Duplicate windows using Chrome Hangouts extension

Weird issue, I had duplicate windows when using Google Chrome’s extension for Google Hangouts. Basically, every single message in every chat window would open a duplicate window with the same contents.

Doing a bit of research, I learned it had to do with profiles. I’d inadvertently created another profile in Chrome and ended up installing Chrome Hangouts extension under that profile, whereas I already had it installed on my former profile.

Easy fix, just go through all profiles and remove the Hangouts extension under each. Profiles are accessible from the upper left corner of the Chrome window.

Chrome profiles menu
Chrome profiles menu

Options to remove the Hangouts extension is available by right-clicking on the Hangouts icon and selecting “Remove from Chrome“.

Remove Hangouts extension from Chrome
Remove Hangouts extension from Chrome
Duplicate windows using Chrome Hangouts extension

2 thoughts on “Duplicate windows using Chrome Hangouts extension

  1. RQ says:

    This issue was bothering me like crazy. Thanks to your post, I realized it’s because I installed the Hangouts extension to my profile from a different laptop!

    1. Hey @RQ, glad that helped! It caused me a fair bit of grief before I finally got it sorted myself! Thanks for posting and also for mentioning it can occur across computers due to the way Chrome works, good to know!

Leave a Reply

